SO WHAT EXACTLY IS AN AVM?

photo(1)photo

As explained by the American Stroke Association

What is a brain AVM?
Normally, arteries carry blood containing oxygen from the heart to the brain, and veins carry blood with less oxygen away from the brain and back to the heart. When an arteriovenous malformation (AVM) occurs, a tangle of blood vessels in the brain or on its surface bypassesnormal brain tissue and directly diverts blood from the arteries to the veins. Brain AVMs are usually congenital, meaning someone is born with one. But they’re usually not hereditary. People probably don’t inherit an AVM from their parents, and they probably won’t pass one on to their children.This occurs to about 1%of the population or about 1 in 500 people. I know right? and that 1 happened to be me. That is the reason why I got all the time to waste now writingthis blog. don’t get me wrong, im way past the angry stage or the denial stage. I have already come to accept my situation and is now trying my hardest to cope and improve my situation. I have attached a picture of me post craniotomy while I was in the ICU so you could picture how bad it was. I hope you are not eating lest your appetite be ruined..

my AVM according to my neuro surgeon is located on the right frontotemporal lobesmeasuring at least3.6×5.2x6cmclose to the edgeor in the basal ganglia if I remember it right. the hemorrhage was so massive and they were able to drain about 58ml of blood.

Leave a Reply

